It’s been a few months, but I haven’t forgotten about this blog!

Over the past few months I’ve actually being doing consistent, daily language study, which has always been a struggle for me. It started with wanting to work through my Anki deck of language vocabulary from August 2013. I’m not sure when I started doing Anki, but I’ve been doing it daily for at least 2 months. Currently out of a total 945 cards, I have about 388 new cards. It’s been slow going – I’m learning around 5-7 new cards a day, and reviewing between 25 and 40 – but the daily consistency has been extremely helpful.

Another tool I’ve been using regularly is Duolingo. Because Duolingo keeps track of your consistency in the form of a streak, you can tell roughly how long you’ve been regularly using it. I believe my streak is around 75 days, and I know I started daily use of Anki a little before Duo. So all in all quite good; I’m very happy with the progress in consistency and in language growth.

I believe in my last update I had mentioned I was attempting to study 20 languages. That didn’t really pan out well. However, with the Anki decks*, I’m currently studying 18 languages. And on Duo, I’m juggling 5 languages – French, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and German.

Below is the list of 18 languages. I’ve broken them down into roughly what level I have achieved. (The CEFR levels are show in brackets.) As you will see, most of them I only know some words in. This can be anywhere from basic greetings to several phrases and sentences. But I wouldn’t classify them as beginner since there are still beginner situations I would be lost in.

My list:
Intermediate (B1/B2) – French
Beginner (A1/A2) – Portuguese, Spanish
Some words (A0) – German, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Mandarin, Norwegian, Polish, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Turkish

DH

*PS. Back in 2013, I had one deck of all vocabulary in all 18 languages. Since starting to use Anki again, I reorganized the deck from one to a sub deck specific to each language, all organized under the one master language deck. (For anyone who uses Anki who would like a more detailed explanation of how I organized things, comment below or contact me directly.)

