Tags

, , , , , ,

My apologies that this is a day late.

I didn’t do as much language study as I would’ve liked to last week. The languages I worked on were Albanian, Portuguese, French, and a little bit of Albanian and Japanese.

I mentioned a few posts back how I started a new job. And I’m loving the job. But it is in the field of IT. And I’m not sure why but I’m having a hard time with it. That is, I’m having a hard time being in IT and then afterward doing languages. It’s like I can’t be interested in both.

I was going to write that, it’s because of this I think I haven’t done much language study these past 2 weeks. But that’s not true. I do have a hard time juggling both interests. But I only do the job 1 or 2 days a week! So that leaves me with 5 or 6 days where I’m relatively free.

It struck me that I have been prioritizing wrongly. Most of the days I’ve been free, I’ve been spending it on Skype, chatting with a friend of mine. Which is nice, but it’s not what I want to do all day!

On a separate note, I started my intermediate Spanish course yesterday. And I really enjoyed it. My actual Spanish level is probably somewhere between beginner and intermediate. Because of this, the beginner level is too low for me at times, and the intermediate level is too high for me at times. But I enjoy being in a class that is a bit high for me – I can rise to the challenge. I’m looking forward to my Spanish improving possibly very quickly over the next few months.

Juggling both Spanish and Portuguese is interesting. It’s easy to mix them up. But you can also have situations where you’re reading one and understanding it, but think you’re reading the other. I recently had that experience. I texted a friend in Portuguese and he responded in Spanish. I read the text and understood it, but thought he had responded in Portuguese. It took me a minute or two to realize it was Spanish!

I’m going to end this post here. I’m going to try and focus on my languages on the days I’m not working this week, instead of spending all day on Skype.

DH

