Tags

, ,

When I first started this blog, I already had a personal blog, and so had planned to make this a service blog where I posted articles that would help others learn about languages and linguistics.

After a little while I closed my other blog and changed the focus of this one to become both a service and personal blog. I was planning to write about my own personal language learning journey, in addition to the service articles. (I’m using the term service to mean content specifically meant to help others. There might be another term used in the blogosphere but I can’t think of any other word right now.) Eventually though I started writing mostly about my own journey and gave less service type posts.

I want to get back to writing posts for others. So: as you may know, if you have been keeping up with my blog, I’m an amateur linguist. In the past I’ve written about and explained various linguistic concepts. I don’t remember what things I have touched on so far. But I would like to start a series on linguistics.

I’ll preface with a disclaimer: I am an amateur linguist; I have learned about and still learn about linguistics for fun. When I use the term linguistics, I mean the scientific discipline of studying language. I know that in English, at least, this term is used by many to also mean things related to language. For example, someone who knows multiple languages is sometimes called a linguist. As far as I’m concerned, this person is a polyglot or a multilingual person. But they are not a linguist. For me, a linguist is someone who studies linguistics. And an amateur linguist, like me, is someone who does this for fun, with perhaps the hope or goal to do it professionally, but who currently does not.

Keep in mind that since I’m an amateur, I will make mistakes in regard to the information I share. I will try my best not to do so; to either make sure what I share will be something I have studied on considerably, or if not, study up on it before I share anything. But even then I will still probably make mistakes and accidentally share misinformation. However, I will also try to correct any misinformation I share as soon as I am aware of it. And of course if you are either a professional or amateur linguist yourself, and you find errors in what I’ve shared, please don’t hestitate to correct me in the comments. After all, that is how we learn – from our mistakes and someone correcting them.

I am also going to try and make this a weekly series. On a personal note, I need to continue to work at becoming disciplined, as for many years I was not. So this will hopefully help with that. And it will also give me something enjoyable and fun to look forward to. Since today is Tuesday, I will keep this day as the day for a Linguistic Lesson.

Now then, next week’s topic (and first lesson): What is Linguistics?

DH

PS. I will try to keep the lessons aimed at the beginner, so short-medium length and without too much technical jargon. I will also try to define any technical jargon I use, the first time I use it. I may, down the road, create a page for linguistic jargon.

